Race Day Packing Made Easy – Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffle 60L Product Review

 

“Disclaimer: I received the Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffle 60L to review as part of being a BibRave Pro. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews!”

As runners we all have to pack gear for our races; shoes, clothing, toiletries and accessories.  What we pack those items in differs from one racer to the other.  For me in the past it was a large backpack and sometimes an extra duffle bag.  As a BibRavePro I had the opportunity to test the Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffle 60L not knowing it would forever change the way I pack for race day.

Before we get started, let me preface by stating the EC60L duffle is not specifically designed for running.  Instead it falls in, what can be consider an exceptionally line, of traveling gear designed to making the traveling experience better.  The EC60L duffle is considered as a “medium” size bag that Eagle Creek offers.  Being an orange fanatic I chose the “orange/grey” color scheme out of the five selections, which was tough as all look aesthetically awesome.

2017-11-18_15-59-23

As a frequent traveler, weighting of gear is very important, especially if used for hiking,  The EC60L duffle weighs in at a whopping 1 lb 12 oz, which can be hard to imagine based on the above picture.  Instead of trying to describe the material the bag is made of, I decided to pull that information directly from the Eagle Creek website.  “Made with an extra-durable, water-repellent coated Bi-Tech™ Armor Lite fabric: a fusion of technology that merges max abrasion-resistance with ultra-light carry”.   Keep the water-repellent piece in mind as some tend to take that as waterproof, which I will add in to my review below.  Other features of the duffle include a main compartment and two end compartments, all featuring #10 lockable zippers with storm flap to protect from the rain.

Unpacking day arrived and I was equally surprised to see that the duffle packs into itself, which aids to storing when traveling is complete.  As you can see from the below picture is about the size of a shoebox.

From a durability standpoint the material of the duffle was of high quality.  A key feature to point out is the bottom of is slightly padded, which will provide some protection for your contents when traveling.  Arrival of the EC60L was perfect as I would be traveling to the Detroit Marathon, so I now could comfortably pack all my gear in a single bag.  Let me just say wow this bag holds ALOT!!!  I tend to be an over packer and had enough room to carry all my race gear and several extra changes of clothes.  Winner as I could now see myself using this duffle for my weekly work travel.

I think the best feature is the end compartments, which are best for isolating those stinky shoes and clothes post runs. Transporting the bag is made simple and consists of several options. The ideal way is to carry it like a backpack. The straps are padded and provide  enough support for your shoulders, and they can also be removed. Removing of the shoulder straps allows for use of the side straps and can be used to carry like a duffle. One of many ways this bag is versatile.

So how does this bag perform in wet situations? I previously mentioned water repellent and that it’s about the extent of protecting the inside compartments from being wet. I took this out in a small mist and the gear was dry inside, however during a heavier rain the gear inside was damp. Overall the Bi-Tech Armor Lite™️material did exactly what it was supposed to and repel light water.

So my parting thoughts…

I absolutely love the EC60L Cargo Hauler. The amount of gear that can be packed into such a lightweight bag is incredible. The addition of the two end compartments allow for separation of the gear being packed. I have used this on several of my work trips as it easily fits in any airline overhead compartments. Very easy to transport and has changed how I travel to and from my races!  Now to get the family to join me on some hikes and camping and we have the only bag we need to haul in.

Follow Eagle Creek via the following social media outlets: Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Want to try and win one of your own? Then make sure to join #Bibchat on Twitter on November 21st at 9pm EST.

Still unsure, check out what other BibRavePro’s are saying about the Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffle 60L. Jenna, Mai, Meridith, Laura, Emily, Fallon, Vanessa, and Lindsey.

3 thoughts on “Race Day Packing Made Easy – Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffle 60L Product Review

  1. Pingback: Travel Tuesdays – Backpack edition – A Girl on a Search for Adventure

  2. Pingback: Gear Review: Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffel great for race travel! Plus, a giveaway – She Runs by the Seashore

  3. Pingback: Eagle Creek Cargo Hauler Duffel – A Review | HG RUNS

Leave a comment